SIGBio Awards


  • Best Paper Award: Improving discrimination of essential genes by modeling local nsertion frequencies in transposon mutagenesis data, Michael Dejesus and Thomas Ioerger
  • Best Student Paper Award: MRFy: Remote Homology Detection for Beta-Structural Proteins Using Markov Random Fields and Stochastic Search, Noah Daniels, Andrew Gallant, Norman Ramsey and Lenore Cowen
  • Best Poster Award: Modularity and Community Detection in Semantic Similarity Networks through Spectral Based Transformation and Markov Clustering, Pietro Hiram Guzzi, Pieangelo Veltri, and Mario Cannataro